Contact Us
Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council
Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council
Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council

Our Board

The QAIHC Board oversees the work of the QAIHC Secretariat and taskforces, makes recommendations on issues concerning Membership and taskforce appointments, identifies and clarifies policy issues, and oversees the QAIHC Strategic Plan. The membership of the Board consists of:

Kieran Chilcott (Yugarabul/Bidjara)

Chairperson - Elected

Kieran is the Chief Executive Officer of the Kalwun Development Corporation Ltd, providing leadership, direction and coordination of the service’s activities to ensure the highest quality services are delivered. Kieran is passionate about the community controlled sector and its ability to achieve better outcomes for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. He holds a Bachelor of Education, Diploma of Management, Cert IV in Business (Governance), Cert IV in Training & Assessment and Cert IV in Mental Health. Kieran has also completed the company director’s course through the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is an active member of the community and has chaired and been a member of several boards and committees, including:

  • Inaugural Chairperson of the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health Ltd Board of Directors;
  • Current Board of Director of the Gold Coast Primary Health Network;
  • Former Board of Director of the Gold Coast Institute of TAFE; and
  • Former Board representation and advisor to further Gold Coast based not-for-profit organisations.

Kerry Crumblin (Mardigan/Kullilli)

Deputy Chairperson - Elected

Kerry is the Chief Executive Officer of Cunnamulla Aboriginal Corporation for Health and has been an active community contributor within the South-West for more than 15 years. She holds a Certificate IV in Business and Certificate IV in Frontline Management and is driven by a passion for improving health, education and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. She is an experienced administrator, project coordinator; policy writer and has successfully assisted Aboriginal organisations over many years through her:

  • Secretariat work for the Goolburri Regional Council;
  • Within Queensland Health administration and program areas;
  • As Foundation Chairperson of the Cunnamulla Aboriginal Corporation for Health (CACH); and
  • As Native Title Community Relations Manager with Queensland South Native Title Services.

Adrian Carson (Cobble Cobble/Wakka Wakka)

South East Queensland Director

Adrian is the Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health (IUIH), leading in the promotion of partnerships and the integration with other mainstream health services within the South East Queensland Region. Having 20 years’ experience within the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Sector, Adrian has played a key role in leading and managing change in Indigenous health including the implementation of the COAG Close the Gap and Health and Hospitals Reform Agenda. His achievements include:

  • Leading the development of the innovative and sustainable business model in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community controlled comprehensive primary health care with the Institute for Urban Indigenous Health;
  • Leading the program development and expansion of Deadly Choices initiative across multiple sites; and
  • Serving previously as CEO of QAIHC.

Gail Wason (Djungun/Wakamin)

Far North Queensland Director

Gail is the Chief Executive Officer of Mulungu Aboriginal Corporation Primary Health Care Service. With over twenty five years’ experience in Aboriginal Health and affairs and an unwavering commitment to improving the health and wellbeing of her community, Gail strives to ensure that the community has access to the full range of high quality, culturally appropriate primary health care services that empowers clients and the community to fully participate in the management of their own health.

  • Over 25 years in Aboriginal Affairs ranging in public and community sectors;
  • Recent 10 years’ experience in Community Controlled Health Management;
  • Previous experience as a Director in the Indigenous Housing sector and as an administrator in the Early Childhood Sectors

Sheryl Lawton (Bidjara/Nywagi)

South West Queensland Director

Sheryl is the Chief Executive Officer of Charleville Western Areas Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Health (CWAATSICH), a position held for more than 15 years. As a previous Chair and Deputy Chair of QAIHC, she has a wealth of experience of the issues confronting the community controlled health sector and advocating and lobbying for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health services across Queensland. Her roles and achievements include:

  • Former Member of the Queensland Government’s South West Hospital and Health Service Board;
  • Secretary/Treasurer of the Charleville Aboriginal Housing Company;
  • Chairperson/administrator of the Mitchell Aboriginal Housing Company;
  • Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of ATSIC Goolburri Regional Council; and
  • Administrator of the Goolburri Aboriginal Land Corporation.

Veronica Williams (Birri Gubba/Bundjalung)

Central Queensland Director

Veronica is the Chief Executive Officer of Cherbourg Regional Aboriginal & Islander Community Controlled Health Services (CRAICCHS), a role she has filled for the past four years.  She has an extensive background in management and company administration and is passionate about the health of her local community.  For the past two years, Veronica has been a Board Member of the Central Queensland Regional Aboriginal and Islander Community Controlled Health Organisation (CQRAICCHO).

Over the last 20 years, Veronica has developed extensive experience working and volunteering in state and national positions, local communities and regions. The majority of the positions she has held have been with Aboriginal Controlled Organisations.

Dr Steve Hambleton

Independent Director

Dr Steve Hambleton is a specialist General Practitioner serving at Kedron in Brisbane. He is the former Federal Vice President and President of the Australian Medical Association (AMA). He became a member of the AMA’s Taskforce on Indigenous Health in 2005 and was Chair from 2009 to 2014. In 2015, Dr Hambleton was appointed as the Chair of the Primary Health Care Advisory Group to investigate options on how to provide better care for people with complex and chronic illnesses and is now on the Health Care Homes Implementation Advisory Group.

Dr Hambleton was awarded an honorary Fellowship of the RACGP in September 2014 and the AMA’s Gold Medal in May of 2015 for services to his profession.

His other achievements include:
• Board Member of Avant Mutual Group Limited
• Deputy Chair of the Medicare Benefits Schedule Review Taskforce
• Board Member of the Australasian Medical Publishing Company who publish The Medical Journal of Australia.